The Knot’s List of Top 20 Wedding Photography Mistakes

The Knot is a popular resource site for Brides to Be – and photographers looking for bridal trends.  I recently came across their list of Top 20 Wedding Photography Mistakes. It’s a compilation of tips & tricks contributed to by wedding photographers.

What it boils down to is ‘communicate with your photographer before the day…

I had a bride who had a picture of her sister tucked into the back of her bouquet so she could be there on that day too.  Very poignant.  Perhaps you have a special relative visiting from out of town – or the niece who lost her parents and loves you like a second mom. The groomsmen wearing team colours as an accessory…  Give the photographer a heads up.

Image

One tip, I don’t see mentioned in as many words, is to choose a photography style that fits your personal style.  It took a while to figure out, but my own photography style is relaxed and natural, going with the flow of the day.  Other photographers favour heavy posing, staging of a lot of images, and continuous setup of studio lighting.  Both can produce beautiful images, but which one is you?

I do think the most important tip of all (#8) is to relax and have fun.  This is your special day – whatever happens, happens – the most important part is that you’ve just spent the day celebrating your love for your (hopefully) life partner.

Image

Image

This entry was posted in Photography, Service and Attitude, Wedding Photography, Weddings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Knot’s List of Top 20 Wedding Photography Mistakes

  1. Thanks for the helpful post. My cousin wants me to be the “unofficial” photographer at her daughter’s wedding, the first in her family. I guess that makes me the back-up plan.

    ~Anne

  2. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as clean as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  3. Pingback: Travel Theme: Couples (Wedding Photography) | The ever rambling thoughts of Suzan McEvoy

Leave a Reply

