Travel Theme: The Four Elements

Earth, Air, Water and Fire – the challenge of Ailsa’s Travel Theme this week.  All but fire feature prominently in my collections – but I do have those too!

Earth – Haleakala Crater in Maui – always leaves me with the feeling I’ve traveled to another planet – perhaps a ‘moonscape’.

Haleakala Crater - Maui

Air – near Kealia Wildlife Refuge, Maui. According to Wikipedia, ‘a rainbow is an optical and meteorological phenomenon that is caused by reflection of light in water droplets in the Earth’s atmosphere, resulting in a spectrum of light appearing in the sky.

Rainbow near Kealia Wildlife Preserve, Maui

Water – Big Hill Springs Provincial Park, AB – one of my favourite places.  Only a 20 minute drive from the house and the water runs year around making for some interesting ice formations in the winter.

Big Hill Springs Provincial Park

Fire – Sundance Campground, Kananaskis, AB –  nothing beats a marshmallow roast over a campfire.

Fire at Sundance Campground

This entry was posted in Calgary, Calgary & Area Attractions, Fine Art Photography, Photography, Travel, Weekly Travel Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Travel Theme: The Four Elements

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme: The Four Elements. | the unbearable lightness of being me.

  2. Pingback: weekly travel theme: the four elements | my sweetpainteddreams

  3. The rainbow/clouds are amazing and I think your cooking fire is the best of a big bunch.

  4. diannegray says:

    These are great for the challenge. I just love that rainbow. You certainly do take amazing pictures! :D

    • Thanks Dianne – just finished drooling over the scenery of your latest post! I’ve only managed to capture 2 rainbows in my life! I was thrilled with that one. When my website is back up, I will put a link to the other one.

  5. Pingback: Travel Theme: Four elements | Serendipity 13

  6. Jaspa says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing Haleakala Crater for myself at the beginning of December!

    • Amazing place Jaspa! Take a sweater though. It can be a tad nippy. We were there in August and, being Canadian, I was quite comfortable in shorts and a t-shirt. Other tourists from warmer climes were pulling on hoodies and sweats LOL!

      • Jaspa says:

        I live in Canada these days too, Suzan, so I’m also used to the cold… as the photo I posted on my Facebook page this morning shows. ;-)

      • Oh yuk! We’re supposed to have our first snow on Sunday. No complaints though – last year it happened in September! We’ve had an awesome fall so far and the cold snap is supposed to be short lived!

  7. That rainbow one would wind up in my PFH file–Print, Frame, Hang.

  8. Thanks Russel. I’m running out of wall space, but it did feature as a full page in my annual 11 x 14 Photobook! :-) I was so excited to see it and find enough room to pull off the road without creating a major traffic incident!

Leave a Reply

